Jump to page content


Learn More...

Main Page

About the Scholarship

How to Apply

Regional Map

Past Recipients

Board of Directors


Scholarship Region Map

Open for Registration

Grade I/II Water Test Prep (W)
Starts Jan 4-Montgomery
Learn More
ArcGIS Basic Training for Water & Wastewater (W/WW)
Jan 18-Loachapoka
Learn More
WW Process Monitoring and Control (WW)
Jan 18-Livingston
Learn More
Grade I/II Water Test Prep (W)
Starts Jan 22-Monroeville
Learn More
Water University
Utility Management Certification
Learn More
Schedule your own
On-site CEH Training

Earn CEHs
Plan for future training with our Training Calendar
Visit us on Facebook!


Quality on Tap




Custom Search



Pay Online
Pay any ARWA invoice online. 
Quick Pay!

Go to
Account Login


Learn more about getting online bill pay!


This web site is structured in compliance with the
Web Accessibility Initiative
of the
World Wide Web Consortium.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Valid CSS!



John A. Garrett Scholarship Fund

Scholarship Application Package
ARWA Offers Educational Opportunities
Read about past
scholarship recipients

2017 Scholarships Awarded

Congratulations to all who applied and especially to those selected
as the 2017 winners!


The month of May each year brings another school year to a close. It is also a time to offer assistance to many young graduates who are interested in continuing their goals to include a higher ducational degree or certification.

The ARWA has for many years supported an Annual Golf Tournament Fundraiser in support of the John A. Garrett Scholarship Fund. The Scholarship Program was governed by a Board of Directors consisting of Vickie Watkins, President; David White, Vice President; Randolph Hall, Secretary/Treasurer for the organization of this

Applicants are judged on scholastic and leadership abilities as well as their community involvement. For 2017, 35 application packages were received as the winners were selected. Chosen to receive the ARWA educational scholarships for the Fall 2017 enrollment were:


Meet our 2017-2018 Scholarship Recipients

Northern Region

Kaylee Ann Fry

Kaylee Ann Fry

Kaylee is the daughter of David Fry, Assistant Superintendent of the Southside Water Works in Etowah County.

Kaylee is a 2017 graduate from Southside High School with a 4.0 GPA. Kaylee is planning to attend Northwest Shoals Community College where she is pursuing a Science Degree.

Austin “Brett” Roberts

Austin “Brett” Roberts

Brett is the son of Billy Roberts, Meter Reader for the Whorton Bend Water Authority in Etowah County.

Brett is a 2017 graduate from Hokes Bluff High School with a 3.7 GPA. Brett is planning to attend Gadsden State where he is pursuing a Degree in Water Science.

Central Region

Leah Hope Benefield

Leah Hope Benefield

Leah is the daughter of Matt Benefield, Lineville Water & Sewer Board in Clay County.

Leah is a 2017 graduate from Central High School of Clay County with a 4.0 GPA. Leah will be attending Troy University where she is seeking a Degree in Accounting.

Mary Jordan Drake

Mary Jordan Drake

Mary is the daughter of Ashley Drake, Utility Clerk/Assistant City Clerk for Linden Utilities Board in Marengo County.

Mary is a 2017 graduate from Marengo Academy with a 4.0 GPA. Mary will be attending University of Alabama where she is seeking a Degree in Marketing.

Southern Region

Braden Alexander Manuel

Braden Alexander Manuel

Braden is the son of Timothy Manuel, Wastewater Manager for City of Fairhope Public Works in Baldwin County.

Braden is a 2017 graduate from Fairhope High School with a 4.0 GPA. Braden is planning to attend Faulkner State Community College and pursue a Health Science.

Cameron McKenzie Morris

Cameron McKenzie Morris

Cameron is the son of Ralph Morris, Water Operator for the Washington County Water Authority in Washington County.

Cameron is a 2017 graduate from Washington County High School 4.0 GPA. Cameron is planning to attend University of Alabama and pursue a Degree in Surveying/Geomatics.


Congratulations to all who applied and especially to those
selected as the 2017 winners!




Copyright © 1999-2018. Alabama Rural Water Association. All rights reserved.

Web site design and maintenance by TEAM Support, Inc.